Countdown to the series finale: 27 days

'Big Bang' moving to 9:30 Posted May 20, 2009

'Big Bang' moving to 9:30

The Big Bang Theory will move from its 8:00 slot to follow television's most popular sitcom, Two and a Half Men, at 9:30, this fall. CBS, announcing its fall line-up at the Upfronts in New York, spelled out their new Monday night line-up.

How I Met Your Mother will kick off the night at 8, Accidentally on Purpose - a new sitcom with Jenna Elfman airs at 8:30, Two and a Half Men stays at 9, and The Big Bang Theory moves to 9:30.

The Big Bang Theory will now finish off CBS' Monday night comedy block, airing after Two and a Half Men - TV's most popular comedy. Two and a Half Men was co-created by Big Bang Theory co-creator Chuck Lorre, who now dominates the 9 o'clock hour.

The Big Bang Theory aired at 9:30 once this season, and got big ratings in the slot. CBS showed confidence in the show when it renewed it for two seasons, back in March. Two and a Half Men was renewed for 3 seasons. Rules of Engagement, which occupied the 9:30 slot this season, has been renewed, but isn't on CBS' fall schedule.

Category: The Big Bang Theory Tags: CBS

Similar Stories

Title Date Posted
CBS announces season finale dates March 11, 2019

CBS today announced its season finale dates for 2018/19, including the series finale of The Big Bang Theory.

CBS gives Young Sheldon a two season renewal February 22, 2019

CBS today announced that it has renewed Young Sheldon for a further two seasons, taking the show through to its fourth season in 2020/21.

The Big Bang Theory to end with twelfth season August 22, 2018

The Big Bang Theory will sign off in May 2019 after its upcoming twelfth season, CBS and Warner Bros. announced today.

CBS announces season premiere dates July 10, 2018

CBS has announced its fall premiere dates for the upcoming 2018/19 season, including a double dose of The Big Bang Theory and Young Sheldon in premiere week.

CBS gives Young Sheldon full-season order September 28, 2017

CBS gave Young Sheldon a full-season order after airing only one episode. The network's order for another nine episodes will take the show's first season up to twenty-two episodes.