Bob Newhart wins his first Emmy for 'TBBT' Posted September 16, 2013

Bob Newhart wins his first Emmy for 'TBBT'

Legendary comedic actor Bob Newhart won his first Emmy last night for his guest appearance on The Big Bang Theory as Professor Proton. Newhart received his award at the Primetime Creative Arts Emmys, which mostly focus on the technical areas of television production but also include the guest actor categories.

Bob Newhart's career spans more than five decades and includes seven Emmy nominations. His first Emmy nomination came in 1962 for The Bob Newhart Show, which ran for six seasons. In the 1980s, he received three consecutive Emmy nominations for Newhart. He received a nomination for Guest Actor in a Drama Series for his guest appearances on ER in 2003. Newhart was also nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Mini-Series or Movie in 2009 for The Librarian III.

Bob Newhart will be returning to The Big Bang Theory again this season. When the actor agreed to guest star on the show, it was on the understanding he would appear more than once. His next episode will be shot in October.

The crew of The Big Bang Theory also took home an award last night. They won the Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Series award for the episode The Higgs Boson Observation.

Category: The Big Bang Theory Tags: awards, emmys

Similar Stories

Title Date Posted
The Big Bang Theory finale earns three Emmy nominations July 17, 2019

The Big Bang Theory has been nominated for three Emmy awards for its series finale, "The Stockholm Syndrome", it was announced yesterday. The Big Bang Theory and its stars were absent from the comedy and acting categories.

2015 Emmy Nominations July 16, 2015

Mayim Bialik today received her fourth consecutive Emmy nomination for her role as Amy Farrah Fowler on The Big Bang Theory. The Big Bang Theory received a total of six nominations today with notable absences in the Comedy Series and Lead Comedy Actor categories.

The Big Bang Theory receives three Critics' Choice nominations May 7, 2015

The Big Bang Theory's cast and guest star Laurie Metcalf received three nominations at the Critics' Choice Television Awards yesterday.

Jim Parsons wins fourth Emmy award August 25, 2014

Jim Parsons won the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series Emmy award at the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards today. This was the actor's fourth time winning the award, for which he has been nominated six consecutive times. With his previous wins in 2010, 2011 and 2013, Parsons joins a small group of actors who have won this award four times: Michael J. Fox, Kelsey Grammer and Carroll O'Connor.

2014 Primetime Emmy Nominations July 10, 2014

The nominations for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards were announced today in Hollywood. The Big Bang Theory and its stars received a total of seven nominations at this year's Emmy awards.