Vote for your favorite The Big Bang Theory episodes in our tournament

Jim Parsons wins fourth Emmy award Posted August 25, 2014

Jim Parsons wins fourth Emmy award

Jim Parsons won the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series Emmy award at the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards today. This was the actor's fourth time winning the award, for which he has been nominated six consecutive times. With his previous wins in 2010, 2011 and 2013, Parsons joins a small group of actors who have won this award four times: Michael J. Fox, Kelsey Grammer and Carroll O'Connor.

The other contenders for the award this year were Derek's Ricky Gervais, Episodes' Matt LeBlanc, House of Lies' Don Cheadle, Louie's Louis C.K., and Shameless's William H. Macy.

The episode Jim Parsons submitted for consideration this year was "The Relationship Diremption". In the episode, Sheldon faces a personal crisis when he feels he's wasting his time with string theory. After some soul searching Sheldon settles on starting a new chapter in his career. With some encouragement from Penny, Sheldon toasts his new beginning, only to end up drunk and needing Amy to put him to bed. "The Pants Alternative" and "The Habitation Configuration", both episodes in which Sheldon gets drunk, have also netted the star Emmy awards in previous years.

Category: Jim Parsons Tags: awards, emmys

Similar Stories

Title Date Posted
The Big Bang Theory finale earns three Emmy nominations July 17, 2019

The Big Bang Theory has been nominated for three Emmy awards for its series finale, "The Stockholm Syndrome", it was announced yesterday. The Big Bang Theory and its stars were absent from the comedy and acting categories.

2015 Emmy Nominations July 16, 2015

Mayim Bialik today received her fourth consecutive Emmy nomination for her role as Amy Farrah Fowler on The Big Bang Theory. The Big Bang Theory received a total of six nominations today with notable absences in the Comedy Series and Lead Comedy Actor categories.

The Big Bang Theory receives three Critics' Choice nominations May 7, 2015

The Big Bang Theory's cast and guest star Laurie Metcalf received three nominations at the Critics' Choice Television Awards yesterday.

2014 Primetime Emmy Nominations July 10, 2014

The nominations for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards were announced today in Hollywood. The Big Bang Theory and its stars received a total of seven nominations at this year's Emmy awards.

Jim Parsons wins Emmy award September 22, 2013

Jim Parsons won the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series Emmy award at the 65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards in Hollywood today. This was the actor's fifth consecutive nomination for the award and third win. Other actors to have won the award three times include Tony Shalhoub, Don Adams and John Lithgow.