Jim Parsons wins Emmy award Posted September 22, 2013

Jim Parsons wins Emmy award

Jim Parsons won the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series Emmy award at the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards today. This was the actor's fifth consecutive nomination for the award and third win, having previously taken the award home in 2010 and 2011. Parsons joins Dick Van Dyke, Tony Shalhoub, Don Adams and John Lithgow as actors who have won this award three times.

The other contenders for the award this year were 30 Rock's Alec Baldwin, Arrested Development's Jason Batemean, Louie's Louis C.K., House of Lies' Don Cheadle and Episodes' Matt LeBlanc.

Parsons' Emmy nomination this year was for the episode "The Habitation Configuration". In the episode, Sheldon is caught in the middle of an argument between his girlfriend Amy and Wil Wheaton. After Penny introduces Sheldon to the Long Island Iced Tea, a drunk Sheldon confronts Wil Wheaton at his home. Parsons won the Emmy in 2010 for the third season episode "The Pants Alternative", another episode in which Sheldon was drunk.

Category: Jim Parsons Tags: awards, emmys

Possibly Related Stories

Title Date Posted
2015 Emmy Nominations July 16, 2015

Mayim Bialik today received her fourth consecutive Emmy nomination for her role as Amy Farrah Fowler on The Big Bang Theory. The Big Bang Theory received a total of six nominations today with notable absences in the Comedy Series and Lead Comedy Actor categories. Read the full story 

The Big Bang Theory receives three Critics' Choice nominations May 7, 2015

The Big Bang Theory's cast and guest star Laurie Metcalf received three nominations at the Critics' Choice Television Awards yesterday. Read the full story 

Jim Parsons wins fourth Emmy award August 25, 2014

Jim Parsons won the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series Emmy award at the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards today. This was the actor's fourth time winning the award, for which he has been nominated six consecutive times. With his previous wins in 2010, 2011 and 2013, Parsons joins a small group of actors who have won this award four times: Michael J. Fox, Kelsey Grammer and Carroll O'Connor. Read the full story 

2014 Primetime Emmy Nominations July 10, 2014

The nominations for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards were announced today in Hollywood. The Big Bang Theory and its stars received a total of seven nominations at this year's Emmy awards. Read the full story 

Bob Newhart wins his first Emmy for 'TBBT' September 16, 2013

Legendary comedic actor Bob Newhart won his first Emmy last night for his guest appearance on The Big Bang Theory as Professor Proton. Newhart received his award at the Primetime Creative Arts Emmys, which mostly focus on the technical areas of television production but also include the guest actor categories. Read the full story